View Single Post
  #1   Report Post  
Old 17-10-2014, 06:23 PM

First recorded activity by GardenBanter: Oct 2014
Default Lawn Questions & Advice

Hi all,

I realise the need for details so I'll try to cover things but if I've missed anything just let me know. I'm a fairly methodical person so I'm happy to be as precise with measurements etc as possible and would appreciate links to proper technical / scientific information rather than the "10 things you need to have a good lawn" click-bait articles that Google turns up.

I've recently bought a house and have started trying to take care of the lawn. Needless to say, as a complete amateur, I'm having trouble. I'd love some help and advice please.

Rough history:
01-June-2014 the turf was laid
Sadly I don't know the type of grass that was laid.
Watered it consistently each day for a month or so
First cut it roughly 15-July-2014
Since then I have cut roughly fortnightly and watered either twice weekly or once if it has rained. I try not to soak the ground too much.
I always cut my grass at the highest setting which is 6cm.
20-Sept-2014 I fed my grass with 'Evergreen Complete 4-in-1'. I fear it's not the most suitable feed and may only serve to make the blades grow thick and green to give a good impression, but may not contain the nutrients my grass needs. I found it very hard to find anything better online. Its nearly all moss killer + lawn feed.

I have notice two problems:
1) Some areas at brown. Not brown blades of grass, it looks more like roots? I'm guessing maybe the grass got too long and even on the highest setting, I took off more than 1/3rd of the blades. Is this the case or could there be something else wrong? I've attached a pic of one of the areas. How can this be remedied?

2) I have lawn rust in certain areas - what can be done?