View Single Post
  #4   Report Post  
Old 12-08-2016, 10:07 PM posted to rec.gardens
external usenet poster

First recorded activity by GardenBanter: Dec 2014
Default Canary Island Palm

"Snuffy "Hub Cap" McKinney" wrote in message ...
"David E. Ross" wrote in message ...
On 8/8/2016 7:32 PM, Snuffy "Hub Cap" McKinney wrote:
I've got this canary island palm that came up wild near the property
line. I didn't realize it would get so big so quickly. I'd like to
leave it there,because it's a good divider between the yards unless
I'm risking damage to a block wall. The trunk is now about 2-feet
diameter and about 6-12 inches from the wall.

I know some types of trees have roots that grow near the surface and
could do damage but I have no experience with this type of palm.

Anyone know if keeping it is a risk to the wall?

Palms do not develope the massive roots that could damage the wall.
However, the tree might grow large enough to press against the wall and
knock it over.

Next question.... I have read that some people will pay big bucks to
come and dig these canary palms out and move them. Any truth to
that?

Yes. Palms transplant very well, even when only a small root ball
remains attached. In fact, if you are concerned that your palm might
bump the wall during a Santa Ana wind, you can move it without killing it.

--
David E. Ross

- Thanks David. I checked just now, and it's far enough away from the wall that it wouldn't touch during high winds. As long as the roots are not a problem as far as damaging the wall, I'll just leave it where it is. First choice would be to sell it to someone if it's worth much and plant something else in its place. Probably not practical unless the company has a crane to lift it up and out. The only way to get equipment in the yard a 5-ft space between the house and the block wall. Still, will make some calls and post what I find out.