View Single Post
  #1   Report Post  
Old 15-06-2005, 01:54 PM

First recorded activity by GardenBanter: Jun 2005
Default Watering Houseplants Using Science

Hi. Posting from Scotland. My background is in polymer technology and specifically developing hydrogels for medical, controlled release, biomaterials and sensor applications. My hobby is cooking and growing fresh kitchen herbs which I used to water to a fairly strict regime - although sometimes from above and sometimes from below. My plants did ok for awhile but usually then suffered from overwatering.
I decided that I should be able to control the flow of water to plants using my hydrogels in membrane form. After a few prototypes my invention worked spectacularly well with basil, achieving plants 2ft - 3ft in height! I extended it to using common houseplants like begonia, chrysanthemum, poinsettia, orchids, streptocarpus, hedera, areca, peace lily, gerbora, bromeliad and african violets with similar success.