Originally Posted by K30a
Glenn wrote Greg
does not clean out his 1 million gallon watergarden at his house each
year.

Well, of course he doesn't. But what has that got to do
with 1,000 gallon backyard ponds?

k30a
http://www.geocities.com/watergarden...dors/home.html

Bottom line is, a pond is a pond is a pond is a pond. Incorporate the right amount of fish, plants and water movement, and there is essentially NO difference between a million gallon lake and a thousand gallon pond. Believe it or not, Whittstock's pond is built no differently than your 1000 gallon pond. Still has liner (different type), gravel, rock and fish. I've been building ponds for the past 17 years now and have seen everything from the little fiberglass tubs with a fountain all the way to the hideous bio-filters and UV sterilizers made from garbage cans, and now the AquaScape Designs system. I can tell you hands down that there is truly no better quality pond system than AD, and if you know of one then please show me... or if you don't know of a better one, then walk the walk and build us a better one. Greg Whittstock knows exactly what he is talking about; however, I will agree that AD (as many smart manufacturers do) sells many useless "fluff" items that are really designed to make the manufacturer more money and nothing more. These "bells and whistles" don't necessarily make a better end product. Regarding annual cleanouts: AD simply recommends marketing annual pond cleanouts to your past customers as a way to maintain contact and obtain maintenance income. Is it truly necessary? Absolutely not. I installed a 5,000 gallon pond in my parents front yard some 6 years ago. Guess how many times its been drained and cleaned? NONE! Guess how nasty the water is. It gets clearer every year! How many times have you caught Mother Nature pressure washing her ponds? Gravel: I can only imagine the construction of someone's pond that isn't using gravel. OY-so much to learn! I must say that if you cannot r