View Single Post
  #1   Report Post  
Old 01-03-2012, 05:08 PM

First recorded activity by GardenBanter: Mar 2012
Default Can someone offer me some advice with my garden?

Hi

I was wondering if any friendly gardeners out there might be able to offer me some advice please.

I am a complete novice and bought my very first house 2 years ago. The first year I spent doing all the decorating indoors, and in spring 2011 I couldn’t wait to get started on sorting out the back garden. I am lucky enough to have a decent sized back garden, 15metres long by about 7 metres wide and at the time it was a completely grassed area with no plants at all. I saw this as a blank canvas and was so excited by the prospect of designing something beautiful.

The first thing I did was to cut away the turf to make borders which was absolutely back breaking as the soil was a heavy clay. Once the turf was removed, I hired a rotavator and nipped down to my local farm who had lots of manure to give away – it wasn’t rotted but it was my only option at the time as I just didn’t have much money to spend on compost. I then spent a good weekend rotavating the borders and throwing in as much organic matter as I could get my hands on.

I also tried to note where the sun was rising and falling so that I could buy the right types of plant. I then spent alot of money buying many plants from the local garden centre as I thought that I would be able to enjoy them for many years to come.

I take a look out of my window now and see that only a few plants have survived – sorry if I get these wrong - afew hebes, black sambuca, forsinthya, buddleia and a twisted willow and a couple of roses.