View Single Post
  #14   Report Post  
Old 05-06-2011, 12:15 PM

First recorded activity by GardenBanter: May 2011

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tractorboy View Post
Hi,
I'm a newbie here. I've just bought a secondhand 8x10 Alton greenhouse and now must go and dismantle and collect it from the seller.
I'd like advice about the best way to do this... eg should I remove all glass or transport the panels with glass in situ?
I've ordered a complete set of assembly hardware from Alton so I can be savage when dismantling and use new screws etc when reassembling.
What sequence should I dismantle - eg roof....walls... ends. Or roof... ends...walls?

I've downloaded the assembly instructions from the Alton website and notice that there is mastic used along the ridge. Is this easy to access and cut through with a Stanley knife?

I will be hiring a van to transport the greenhouse and will need to bring all the tools I'm likely to need (screwdrivers, saw, knife, spanners) Anything else?
Well I've now transported the greenhouse from Sussex to Suffolk and thought I'd post one or two tips to help others undertaking a similar project:

1. The Alton 8' Amateur range does NOT fit in a regular Ford Transit. In particular, the gable ends don't fit! We had to leave those behind and make other arrangments.

2. Fit the bolts into the kerbs after dismantling so that the threaded holes don't get filled with dust and dirt.

3. Expect some minor rot even if the greenhouse superficially looks good. On close inspection of the joints, we found a couple of instances of wet rot. Easily fixed with wood hardener and filler.

4. When we got the greenhouse home, we set the glass out on the lawn and washed it all with soapy water and a floor mop. Then dried with a squeegee. It was a sunny day and although the glass was only on the lawn for about 90minutes, the grass underneath got badly scorched. We live and learn! We now have a lawn with bizarre patterns!